h1

Finally! Senate to hear Marquette License Plate bill

March 2, 2010

From the WI State Journal:

The state Senate is poised to pass a bill that would authorize special license plates honoring Marquette University.

The bill authorizes the state Department of Transportation to develop the plates if the agency receives enough money from the university or other contributors to cover the initial production costs or $11,800, whichever is less, by June 30, 2013. Marquette spokesman Christopher Stolarski says the university has agreed to cover the costs.

The plates would cost drivers $15.

The state Assembly passed the measure in January. The Senate is expected to follow suit during Tuesday’s session and send the bill on to Gov. Jim Doyle. The governor’s spokesman, Adam Collins, says Doyle will review the legislation.

Currently each of the 13 state schools (I didn’t even know there were 13 state schools) have personalized license plate. I’m going to keep my eye out to see if I ever see a UW-Superior or UW-River Falls license plate.

I was able to pull this off of a Marquette basketball based message board.  A hat tip goes to whoever created this plate, it looks awesome.

Even if the plate doesn’t look as cool as the design above, I’ll still be first in line to have an MU Logo adorn my license plate.

Now I just need to figure out how I should personalize my plate…

I’m sure all forms of AHOYA are taken. Probably goes for MU LAW too…

BUZZ

BUZZBNCH

CREANSUX

CALLMEAL… not MEAL but ME AL?

WARRIORS

TANTOM

MU RARA

AUEAGLE

IM MU

GOLDMAN… no, that won’t work

MU COC might give the wrong impression but I am a College of Comm grad…

Leave a Reply

