h1

Jodie Sweetin takes some bumps at Marquette

October 23, 2009

Former Full House cutie Jodie Sweetin’s new memior “unSweetined” makes some startling and revealing comments about her addiction to drugs. Apparently she wasn’t completely sober when she gave her stirring speech to Marquette students a few years ago.

In April of 2007 Jodie came to talk to about her meth addiction and recovery at Marquette. Students packed the Weasler Auditorium. Student’s loved the speech. Jodie had a different take on it (this is a snippet from Jodie’s book from HuffPo):

Jodie Sweetin has found a way to make money again. Hosting a pantsless dancing competition while addicted to meth didn’t work out so well, but maybe she will find a larger audience of readers interested in her long and sordid affair with drugs she describes as both socially acceptable (coke, Ecstasy) and those better done behind closed doors (meth). She tells all in her new book unSweetined.

Last year the ‘Full House’ middle child went ‘From Meth Addict to Mom.’ The transformation may not have been a full one. She gave birth to daughter Zoie in April 2008, soon fell back into her winey, if not methy, ways and split from husband Cody Herpin in November.

Here is an excerpt about her coke-fueled sobriety tour, and you can read more here:

When I got to my hotel near Marquette University in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, I slept for a few hours but when I woke up I was still dead tired. I was a mess. Luckily I had the coke to pick me back up. I did a few key bumps and headed to the lecture hall, where a sold-out crowd waited to hear me speak. I thought for sure that one of the professors would take one look at me and kick me out. But none did. They wanted to hear about the trials and tribulations of Jodie Sweetin, or at least the Jodie Sweetin I had created by appearing on Good Morning America and talking to People magazine.

I stood up at the podium, looked around the room, and put on my best TV smile. I was so disappointed in myself. I was living a complete lie. But unfortunately, guilt doesn’t make you stop. I talked about growing up on television and about how great my life was now that I was sober, and then midspeech I started to cry. The crowd probably thought that the memories of hitting rock bottom were too much for me to handle. Or maybe they thought the tears were just a way for an actor to send a message that drugs are bad. I don’t know what they thought.I know what they didn’t think. They didn’t think I was coming down from a two-day bender of coke, meth, and Ecstasy and they didn’t think that I was lying to them with every sentence that came out of my mouth. That much I do know. The little bit of coke that I had done before the speech wasn’t enough to make me forget how bad I felt for doing what I was doing. The guilt was eating away at me. I was struggling to keep it together, but no one realized that. I finished. They applauded. Standing ovation. Just how I liked it. And it was over.

I was just so tired. Tired of lying. Tired of pretending to be someone that I wasn’t. I took a deep breath and walked out of the lecture hall. I went back to my hotel room and buried my face in my hands. I couldn’t keep doing this. It had to end.

But not today. I wiped away the tears and finished the baggie of coke.

Does this look like the face of a coke fiend?

Does this look like the face of a coke fiend?

Let’s fill in some gaps here using the Marquette Tribune article covering the Full House star’s since Jodie doesn’t mention (Read: Remember) what she actually said to Marquette students.

“I was so busy trying to chase after the next fix ā€“ the next thing that would make me feel better ā€“ that I lost my academic scholarship. I lost my friends. And I nearly lost myself,” she said.

She said she eventually had a moment of clarity after a few nights of partying. She thought she needed to go home immediately, otherwise she may not choose to stop again. She went home for a week and, at 18, she went sober for the first time in years.

Sweetin said she eventually went back to college, graduated and got married in 2002. However, the little voice in her head came back saying she could handle alcohol better now that she was older. In October 2002, she relapsed, crawling home after a night of drinking.

“It took me down harder than anything that I have ever experienced and it made me feel more alone and empty than anything I have ever experienced in my life,” Sweetin said.

Sweetin ended up in the emergency room in March 2005 with acute alcohol poisoning, heart arrhythmia and hypothermia because of the combination of drugs and alcohol. It was after this that she decided to go to rehabilitation for six months in Malibu, California.

“I finally had to figure out who I was on my own,” she said. “I am very lucky I got to come through on the other side.”

Awesome eh? What a truly remarkable story about overcoming addiction and recovering from terrible problems… Except she had nose full of blow while she said it.I feel slightly cheated.

It’s ok though, we still think Stephanie Tanner is quite a cutie even if she does relapse again.

Leave a Reply

